<< Back to Press Coverage

September 8th, 2009   

New Executive Committee Elected for Ottawa Diplomatic Association

Photo Credit: Roxanne Brousseau-Felio

New President of the Ottawa Diplomatic Association, H.E. Khaled Bahah, Ambassador of The Republic of Yemen (left) shakes hands with former President, H.E. Tsuneo Nishida, Ambassador of Japan (right)

On September 8th, 2009, a new Executive Committee was elected for the Ottawa Diplomatic Association. Ambassador Khaled Bahah, Ambassador of the Republic of Yemen, was appointed to preside over the Association.

It is with great enthusiasm and gusto that he embraces these responsibilities, replacing Ambassador Tsuneo Nishida, who, he readily acknowledges, will be a tough act to follow, as President of the Association. He nevertheless welcomes this opportunity to serve the organization in its mandate to promote friendship among its members, while designing innovative activities that will both entertain and inform. While the Association will continue to deliver vital information about Canadian culture, politics and economics, he also wishes to promote an environment that will foster valuable and dynamic cultural exchange. Ambassador Bahah believes that a strong and energetic Ottawa Diplomatic Association can act as a effective conduit to the development of important relationships between its members and key individuals from all levels of Canadian Government.

As a new member of the Diplomatic Corps himself, he also realizes the vital importance of providing an Association that will make other newcomers feel at home upon their arrival in Canada and also provide a valuable framework within which they can swiftly network and conduct business without delay.

To accomplish these objectives, His Excellency wishes to develop, in participation with other Members, a solid marketing campaign for the Association, an informative website and to work closely with the media to promote the Associations activities, events and spirit of cooperation.

Ottawa Diplomatic Association
Executive Committee
As elected by the General Assembly on September 8, 2009

Position Name Title
President H.E.Khaled Mamfoudh Abdullah BAHAH Ambassador of Yemen
First Vice-President H.E.Chan Ho HA Ambassador of Korea
Second Vice-President H.E. Camille Rosemarie ROBINSON-REGIS High Commissioner of Trinidad and Tobago
Secretary General High Commissioner of Trinidad and Tobago Secretary General Mrs. Thea GEERTS Spouse of Ambassador of The Netherlands
Deputy Secretary General Mr. James Lévêque National Press Club
Treasurer Ms.Samy ARAYA-ROJAS Counsellor, Embassy of Costa Rica
Deputy Treasurer Mr.Jose Nestor URETA Minister, Embassy of Argentina
Members Mrs.Marie-Nathalie MENOS-GISSEL


H.E. Shashishekhar Madhukar GAVAI
Minister-Counsellor & Chargé d'Affaires, a.i., Embassy of Haiti

Ambassador of Morocco

High Commissioner


<< Back to Press Coverage